A Ninja By Any Other Name

Greetings Ninjas in Training!

Names of things can be confusing.

Sometimes, for example, you don’t realize the Australian word for “cantaloupe” is “rockmelon.” After a thoroughly American search of the ancient predecessor of The List, you excitedly eat a slice of totally safe cantaloupe, only to be confounded when you start wheezing and your legs stop working and you need your 90 lb friend to half carry you back to your dorm.

image

(This has happened to me multiple times with multiple 90 lb friends. I’m not sure what this says about me.)

“Look at me!” you cry, “I can’t walk across the room, all because I didn’t know the Australian word for cantaloupe.”

Sometimes, you can’t remember the name of the website that teaches important Ninja skills like “label reading” and “not dying,” because it’s ridiculously long and could be a variety of things. You need to look up a food, or share it with a friend, but… is it citricacidallergies? citricacidallergy? citricacidintolerance? citricacidisevil? No one knows.

(This has happened to me multiple times with multiple friends of a variety of sizes. I’m not sure what this says about me.)

I’ve been considering a name change for quite awhile, but it’s a complicated process so I don’t want to do it unless you, my Ninjas in Training, find it useful.

Based on the large number of searches for “Lemon Ninja” that result in hits for this website, it seems to me that LemonNinja.com (or LemonNinja.wordpress.com) is the most sensical change. Also, it just sounds awesome.

image

The thing is, this name change is something that would cost money. I’ve had a surprising number of kind Ninjas (let’s be honest, more than zero would be surprising, so more than more than zero is kind of blowing my mind??) offer to support this website with a donation… I’ve always said no thank you, because I love sharing knowledge and helping people sharpen their mad ninja skillz.

But maybe, just maybe, it would be worth accepting donations in the name of a name change. A Ninja by any other name does smell as sweet, but quite frankly, I don’t want to smell any of you; I just want to make it easy for you to find information, and if a name change facilitates that, I’d be happy to oblige!

So now we turn to our handy dandy poll to sort this out. Please know you are more than welcome to vote for a name change even if you aren’t up for donating. I am absolutely not asking for donations from anyone – I’m simply accepting from those who have oh so kindly offered, and if you’re like, “Hey, I have a million dollars and I totally don’t mind supporting my most favoritest website,” that’s cool too 🙂 Regardless, this website will always be available to everyone who needs it.

Edit: don’t worry, the original URL will still work! Saved links and posts will not be broken thanks to the magic of redirects.

That’s all for now. Until next time, when life gives you lemons, RUN!

The Lemon Ninja

Leave a Reply

