A post about Mulan, apparently.

Greetings, Ninjas in Training!

Many apologies for my extended absence, both from here and from my email lair.  If I haven’t responded to your inquiry, I promise it’s not because I hate you (probably).  Either your message was so awesome I was unable to muster the brain power to answer it, or your  message was so awesome that I’m working on a post about it. (See: the several messages I have gotten about chocolate. Post forthcoming, my ninjalings!)

My health is still pretty shaky, so updates and email contact may come and go in bursts. I have started a new treatment, and of course I shall let you all know whether or not it makes any difference in my ninja tolerance levels. Also, I am allergic to my computer and am using an iPad right now, so fancy updates to the site may have to wait. I can’t even go back in my writing to make edits (that extra space between “your” and “message” is driving me INSANE), so updating the non-blog pages may cause me to spontaneously combust.

And now for something fun… the recipe for my latest snack obsession! This is my mom’s recipe for homemade jello. You can substitute any kind of tea that is within your tolerance, or even fruit juice if you can handle that (nix the sugar, though).

Homemade  Jell-o

Ingredients:

*1 tablespoon plain gelatin (I use the orange labeled Great Lakes brand)
*1 cup water (hot) + 1.5 cup water (room temp)
*3 bags chamomile tea (WARNING: some brands of tea use citric acid or citrates in their tea bags. This will not be on the label, so always call the manufacturer before trying something new!)
*3 tablespoons organic brown sugar (WARNING: make sure it is pure cane sugar. Some companies use beet molasses in their brown sugar… again, this kind of stuff is not on the label, so call and check!)

1. Heat 1 cup water until very hot, but not boiling. Steep 3 bags of chamomile tea for 5 minutes.
2. Prepare the gelatin as per the directions on the box (this is called “blooming.”) It works best to do this in the big bowl you will do all the mixing in- I use a 4 cup Pyrex pitcher.
3. Now, pour the tea–

(sorry, I had to!)–into the gelatin slurry and stir for about a minute until the gelatin is dissolved.
4. Add 3 tablespoons of organic brown sugar, and stir till dissolved.
5. Add another 1.5 cups of water and stir. Squeeze the tea bags into the mix to get all that flavor in there!
6. Separate into four serving cups and refrigerate for 25 minutes. Nom to your heart’s content!

 

That’s all for now, ninjas-in-training! Until next time…
When life gives you lemons, RUN!
LN

Leave a Reply

