Spice Up Your Life (With a Cure!)

Greetings, Ninjas in Training!

2016 brought me a lot of ups and downs, but there was one up that was the uppiest up of all: a cure.

giphy

You heard me right, ninjalings. An actual cure for my citric acid allergy/sensitivity/whatever. Wanna know what I’ve eaten over the past three months, with no resulting anaphylaxis and continually decreasing neurological symptoms?

  • A nibble of cucumber
  • About 1/8 of an apple
  • 6 raisins
  • Two whole flippin carrots
  • A whole freaking sweet potato

Each of these foods (aside from the carrot) contain 0.1% citric acid.

Wanna know what I was eating before I started my program 4 months ago?

  • Not a molecule of cucumber
  • Not 0/8 of an apple
  • Not anything remotely resembling a raisin
  • Not anything that had been touched by a carrot
  • Not even sweet potatoes in my sweetest dreams

abort

This is a real cure, guys.

sue-loves-9

Now, notice I said “a” cure, not “the” cure. Everyone is different. Other ninjas have had success with things that have not worked for me, but those cures and treatments are equally valid. I hope someday to write in detail about those. For now, there is one treatment that numerous ninjas seem to have success with, and that is CoA-boosting supplements. Please check out Milind’s website for a detailed explanation of that!

But now, on to the magical cure that I’m super excited to share with you!

excited

Well, it’s not so much magic as it is neuroplasticity.

What is neuroplasticity, you ask?

This is essentially a concept that tells us the brain can grow and change – it is plastic, not static. You might have heard this term used to explain why children can learn languages better than adults – their brains are more plastic, so they can build new neural pathways better than adults can.

giphy-1

But that doesn’t mean that adults can’t rewire their brains too! Think about stroke victims: part of their brain was damaged, but with incredible determination, patience, and a heck of a lot of repetition, they can build new pathways that enable them to walk and speak again.

As it turns out, this principle can be applied to other types of healing too.

There is a part of your brain called the limbic system that is in charge of a lot of things, including memory, emotions, immediate trauma response, fear associations, general health management, and then some. Look, isn’t it cute?

limbic_system

I’m Blue, da ba dee da ba daa…

This part of the brain can be damaged through physical, emotional, and chemical trauma. And when it’s damaged, it can lead to all sorts of health problems: chemical sensitivity, depression, PTSD, anxiety, chronic fatigue, and, most importantly (in our case), food sensitivities.

Wait, what? Why though?

Remember how I mentioned the limbic system is involved in immediate trauma response? You know how if there’s a bus coming towards you, you will jump out of the way without even thinking about it?

anigif_original-19915-1463369535-5

When it’s injured, sometimes the limbic system creates these automatic responses for the wrong things.

tumblr_mhgyqkzutb1qanqj4o3_250

A lot of times, but not always, these things were present at the time of trauma, and so your brain learned incorrectly that you need to have an automatic protection response to these things.

giphy

(If you haven’t seen Spice World, what are you doing with your life?)

How many of you suddenly started having problems with citric acid after a virus, a round of antibiotics, or a vaccine? How many of you had a great deal of stress in your life preceding your induction into ninjahood? I have heard these stories again and again from countless ninjas who have written me to share their stories.

(A shinobi shōzoku is a ninja outfit, in case you were wondering.)

So, it turns out the root cause of my ninjaness was actually a brain injury. How am I fixing it?

7557431_today-in-feeling-old-spice-world-turns_tffad08fe

Also, I am using a program called the Dynamic Neural Retraining System.

What is it? It is a series of scientifically-based exercises that help you prune off those well-intentioned-but-harmful neural pathways, and build new ones that dictate an appropriate response. The program also involves some language changes that create the proper chemical environment for neural genesis.

Some of you might be thinking, “It sounds like she’s saying it’s all in our heads.”

Well… technically, your brain is in your head, so.

But no ninjalings, we are talking about physical neurons here. Your brain is the command center for a lot of things; it can and does conduct the symphony that is outlandish responses to foods.

58-reason-spice-world-cinematic-masterpiece

I think I speak for a lot of us when I say that it took me ages to figure out what my trigger was, and even longer to discover exactly what was and was not safe to eat. Lots of this was found out by trial and error before I discovered The List, which then validated the personal list I’d been keeping of foods that made me stop breathing.

I am not crazy. You are not crazy. My silly brain (and maybe yours too!) just decided to pick the wrong target. But there is a way to fix it!

I cannot say enough about this program. It is a lot of work – I must do it for at least an hour a day, every day. But it is worth it.

It is worth it.

I am healing.

I am HEALING!!!!

goal

That’s all for now, ninjalings.
Pretty soon, when life gives me lemons, I won’t run… I’ll EAT THEM 😀
(But definitely still running for now.)
The Lemon Ninja

PS ~ I should add that I have been using homeopathy in combination with the DNRS. I believe both are indispensable to my particular complex needs, and I encourage others with complex needs to look into seeing a homeopath. However, I believe it is possible for many ninjas to benefit from and heal themselves with the DNRS alone. I’m not a doctor, blah blah blah, you know the drill.

PPS ~ Part of the DNRS is not focusing on the things that your body used to respond to poorly, so I will not be giving ninja tips for awhile. Please direct ninja questions to this awesome group on Facebook. I will continue to post recipes (I swear I’m still working on the one from the contest!) and, as I heal more, I may be back with more survival lessons. I sincerely hope some of you will look into this program and will have success with it. Feel free to ask questions about it on this post – I will try to answer those questions, because healing is awesome and important!

PPPS ~ The results of the renaming poll are in: #no1curr. Ok like, 4 people cared, split evenly between yes and no. But the nin-jority is content to continue Googling “Lemon Ninja” to find the site, so we’ll just leave it at that!

PPPPS ~ Please don’t ask me how this post went from Excited Sue to Spice World because I honestly have no idea.

10 thoughts on “Spice Up Your Life (With a Cure!)

  1. What a wonderful coincidence. I started DNRS myself about 3 months ago for food sensitivities and multiple chemical sensitivity (new clothes, inks, paper products, soaps, etc..) and it has been amazing journey. My life is changing so fast. I’m eating things I’ve not eaten in over 15 years (popcorn, lunchmeat, mustard, mayo). As well as being around everyday items that heavily affected me before.

    And yeah, I cannot wait until I get to eat an orange. Someday soon!

  2. This blows my mind. 2 years ago my then 5 year old son got eczema (all over his body) and has had it since. A couple of months ago I discovered he has a citric acid sensitivity/allergy. While this goes unproven by a medical professional it is undeniable. EVERY food and product he has a reaction to has citric acid in some form. He used to eat tangerines by the bucket full. Then suddenly our world turned upside down. Reading this just made me aware that his issues started right after his immunizations before starting school. I feel so lucky to have discovered his trigger so quickly and it is largely in part to people like you who blog about their issues. So thank you and good luck on your journey.

    • Hi Traci,
      I’m so happy you were able to figure out your little guy’s trigger early on, and am so grateful to have helped that realization along! Thank you so much for the well wishes… I’m up to 14 new foods in my diet and counting! I wish you and your son the best of luck in healing.
      LN

      • Hi LN,
        I started a reply and it vanished so you may get another half finished.

        Sorry I had not replied to this or your private mssg. I really appreciated the info. We have been busy since trying to eliminate citric acid from his world, which you know is no easy task! I am happy to report that for the first time in nearly 2 years he has been steadily improving and has had no flare ups for three weeks – until tonight that is. Apparently KFC puts citric acid in its oil to preserve the flavor. Stupid last minute dinner decision on my part!

        His school removed Simple Green from all classrooms he uses and that seemed to be the last of the flare ups. Other than the occasional item that slips through.

        One last good note. I wrote to Hershey as we had removed all chocolate from his life – not being able to tell which cocoa beans had been fermented in citric acid. They promptly replied with an explanation of the process they use – none of which uses citric acid. My son was beside himself when I presented him with a huge Hershy bar after school that day. He has happily been snacking on Hershey since with no flare ups!

        • Hi Traci! I’ve been on a bit of a break, so I’m sure lots of other fabulous things have happened for your little guy by now. Just wanted to let you know it made my day to find out he can have chocolate 🙂 It really is the best!

  3. THANK YOU SO MUCH! I have tears in my eyes right now. I am really struggling with this right now and feel as if I am completely alone at times. People just don’t understand what this is like and i try every day to be positive and grateful, but, there are times I just feel Overwhelmed. Thank you for doing this

  4. Hi,
    I was just wondering how that DNRS has been working for you for the past year? I just began to realize my sensitivity to citric acid, and I was thinking about doing the DNRS program..

    Thanks for everything you have put into this site, it’s been very helpful for me.

    Thanks,
    Joe

    • Hi Joe! Apologies for the multi year delay in getting back to you. I’ve been on a break from blogging during my recovery, but I am happy to announce I can enjoy all the lemonade I want. If you haven’t given DNRS a try already, +11/10 recommend!

Leave a comment